2 BR Pigeon Forge Resort Cabin Townhouse Near Golf Course...
 
 
 
 
Property Details
Property Type: Cabin
Bed/Bath: 2/2.50
Sleeps: 8
Pets: No
Smoking: No
Rental Rates:

$116 - $318 per night

$700 - $1,833 per week

$4,192 - $5,004 per month

 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description
2 BR Pigeon Forge Resort Cabin Townhouse Near Golf Course Dollywood

Take a break from it all in this 2 bedroom, 2 bath townhome with hydro jacuzzi in the master! You will enjoy the private hot tub and resort pool access this lovely townhome offers. Relax for a quiet evening in with a home cooked meal made in your own fully equipped kitchen! Just minutes from Dollywood and the Pigeon Forge Parkway, you will love this beautiful log townhome in the Smokies! This log townhome has indoor and outdoor pool access, just 1 mile from Dollywood, the Leconte Convention Center, and the Cal Ripken Baseball Experience! Sorry, no pets or smoking. Reserve the ultimate family vacation rental in Pigeon Forge today! Book Cozy Bear Cove today!

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 2 Other

Additional Features:
* Culture: Close to Dollywood
* Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, Internet, Wi-Fi
* Geographic: Close to Town
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Linens, Washer & Dryer, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Gas, Jacuzzi Tub (2)
* Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Resort Pool Access, Resort Indoor Pool Access
 
 
 
 
 
 
Map

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Availability

Owner/Manager last updated on 10/21/2017

 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months
  October   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  November   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
  December   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  January   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  February   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28    
  March   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  April   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  May   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  June   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  July   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  August   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  September   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months

 
 
 
 
 
 
Rates
Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amenities
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Deck
  • ·Gas Grill
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reviews
 Property Reviews 
Townhouse
Lisa G. from Nicholasville, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2017
I did not read the reviews before I booked this unit. I was unaware that it was a townhouse. We enjoyed the unit but there were a few issues. There was water damage on the ceiling in bottom floor room. The toilet off the kitchen ran constantly ( i turned it off). The furnishing were nice. The location was wonderful. The people in the office were wonderful. You can hear the people in the unit next to you.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with this cabin rental. Our website does list the cabins in this resort as "townhomes". We apologize if this was not clear and for any inconveniences caused by this. We appreciate you, and hope to see you for future rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not exactly as represented
Lori S. from Greer, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2017
Supposed to sleep 8, but no way when both sleeper sofas were unusable. Wi-Fi was practically nonexistent and cable reception was horrible. The cabin was spacious and in a great location, but needs work. One lamp in the living room did not have a button to turn it on with. Upstairs toilet would not flush.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us! We apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay at Cozy Bear Cove, and appreciate your feedback! Your information will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope to see you for future rentals!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pigeon forge
A guest from Cool Ridge, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2017
The location was superb comma very convenient to everything usually like. The cabin has many areas that could be updated. I was most dissatisfied with the cleanliness of the cabin. There were cobwebs on the chandeliers two of the commodes had Rings where they had not been cleaned nor had they been flushed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with this cabin rental! Our company uses contract cleaners to clean our cabins, and this crew has recently been released. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay! Additionally, we are working with the private owner of this cabin for any updates that are needed. We appreciate you, and hope that you enjoyed your trip to our area!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cozy Bear 288
A guest from Shelby, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2017
I have a number of issues with this cabin.1. No WIFI or internet I called the office asking for a WIFI code they said I would be able to connect to one of the public WIFI but this was not possible. I tried with 2 I phones an Ipad and a laptop. The only way I could connect was by using my hotspot on my phone and that cost.2. It seems that no one maintains the house. Light bulbs were out tear in the sofa seat ants in the hot tub if the hot tub had been cleaned these ants would not be there. . We spill something on the floor and when we cleaned the floor we got up much more dirt that was already there. The lint filter on the dryer had at least 6 months of lint. the bedding was dirty to the point that we would not use it. I had to replace the batteries in the remote control. All of these things were issue that you don't want to deal with on vacation. The house should be prepared for guests3. The hot tube would not run correctly.4. to take a shower upstairs you had to wait more than 10 minutes for hot water. As you can see this was extremely frustrating

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Brent,
I am greatly sorry about your experience and the grievances that we are in control of we have rectified. As for the WiFi that is under the control of Golf View Resort and with comments from Aunt Bugs and the other Cabin Rental Companies the resort is working on improving their connections.

Thanks
John
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Valentine's stay in the smokies
A guest from HUDSON, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2017
We spent two nights here in February 2017. Aunt bugs was easy and quick for booking so that was nice. The cabin itself was decent, roomy,and comfortable. I didn't realize it was like a town house, so it was a little annoying listening to the family's kids next door running up and down the steps and carrying on. I should also point out that the grill is a little dated, and not all the burners work, and the heat shields are missing. So, if you're planning on cooking most of your food on the advertised grill, you should plan otherwise. The cabin was easy to find, easy to access using the number punch acess code vs keeping up with a key. Overall it was exactly what we needed for the weekend get away. Plenty of room for meeting up with friends or family, without being right on top of each other. Clean and comfortable.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good Stay
A guest from Providence, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2016
The location was great and the aunt bugs staff was great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stay elsewhere!!!!
Karen Y. from Mount Juliet, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2016
This is NOT a cabin rental company that extended itself to insuring positive reviews. My entire stay consisted of making phone calls to the main office with ZERO resolutions. When asked in an email for a partial refund I was given a complimentry token gift certificate for another visit. There are cleaner, more well maintenaned properties in Pigeon Forge. Chose something other then Aunt Bugs.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Connie Mounts
Connie M. from Bolingbrook, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2016
It was very noisy as you could hear the conversation from the neighbors next door and overtime they went up and down the stairs you could hear. I also dropped my phone behind the nightstand in the downstairs bedroom and it is not very clean behind there. The couch was ripped upstairs and the carpet throughout the cabin needs to be replaced.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fall break
Tim W. from Eaton, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2016
We've stayed in many cabins. This one being a duplex was not a problem. We had our own parking and we didn't hear them. The cabin is laid out well. Not the best furniture, but ok. Location is good. Kids liked the indoor pool. I don't think I would stay here again. We've stayed in a lot better.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pigeon Forge trip
A guest from Floresville, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2016
Overall everything was good. The cabin could have used a few more amenities. There was dishwasher detergent but no liquid dish soap. Also the layout was not what we expected. We did not expect the bedrooms to be on different floors. But overall we had a nice stay and we would stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cozy Bear
A guest from Epes, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2016
the cabin was cozy but the bed sheets could have been cleaned. the shower in the upstairs room took awhile to get hot. the hot tub should have been cleaned for the upcoming guest.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

If you don't mind dust, dirt and outdated...
A guest from Natural Bridge Station, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2016
Cabin was VERY dirty and out dated. Looked to have not been dusted in years! Centipede in lower bath. One bulb blown in almost every set of lights. Main floor back door knob loose. Front porch leaked. Hot tub jets was poor. Water pressure for bathing poor. Wallpaper pealing from the floor up. Very loud neighbors that we could hear every word because it's a shared house! Screen ripped behind hot tub. Grill nasty. Blinds bent and broke out we had to hang towel over front door so no one could see in. Pullout sofa broke. And lastly our feet was BLACK within minutes of being there. Would not recommend to anyone!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not what was expected
A guest from New Castle, PA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2016
We started in another cabin all 1 level very nice for my in laws us and my 11 month old the air conditioning broke the maintence man said we didn't have it on but needless to say it was broke do at 8 pm packed up the whole cabin and moved to a 3 level not little kid friendly cabin that the location was better and closer cabin was dirty there were stairs everywhere hard to manage also was a cheaper cabin and was not offered anything for the disruption of our stay. The people were nice but it just is very upsetting and we tried to say we didn't like the cabin but they had left already.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good place to stay
Reviewed by: Reginald C. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2016
Very clean cabin very comfortable

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

cozy april getaway
A guest from Peterstown, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2016
excellent

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not up to par
Steven C. from Mount Washington, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016
We rented this property because it was supposed to have indoor pool access the two times we decided to use it the pool was closed and the hot tub wouldn't get hot and we were under the impression we were renting a cabin but it's a condo connected to another unit

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Spring Break 2016!!
A guest from Pontiac, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2016
Our family rented a cabin through Aunt Bugs cabin rental for Spring break. Upon arriving we had to check in at the Aunt Bugs rental office. We was very excited to be there but the guest service rep who had to check us in didn't seem enthused to help us!! Once we arrive at the cabin it was beautiful the scenery was amazing. My family had a blast at the local activities in the area. Customer service on the phone was great!! Only complaint was during check in:(

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cozy Bear Cove
Karen H. from Lexington, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in March, 2016
Wonderful location in Pigeon Forge, but the condo was not clean. The furniture was too old and uncomfortable. The carpet and rugs were dirty. All the dishes had to be washed before used.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

EHHH, OK
ASHLEY J. from RICHMOND, IN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2016
Don't let the pictures fool you. this is a condo/ half double with very thin thin walls. . .the neighbors were very loud, the water heater took 15/20 minutes to heat up everytime. One bedroom is in a basement one in the upper level. the bathroom in the upper level was a little rough and they tried hiding the blemishes with folded towels. the laundry soap they use on the sheets/towels smell horrible, they are better off not even washing them. .Check in staff was rude because I didn't have some paperwork filled out but didn't even know about any paperwork... I wouldn't stay here again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Worst Cabin Ever
Cathy G. from Marshfield, MO does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2015
This was the worst cabin we have stayed in! It was dirty inside, dead bugs in the shower, peeling paint, beds hard as a rock, very very out dated and you have neighbors separated by a door! Pics are deceiving thinking ur renting ur own cabin! Not a cabin feeling at all! Decor is very bad too!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered with your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated, and will help us to create a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope to see you for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Everything other than cozy!
Shane T. from Hagerstown, MD does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 13 days in August, 2015
We have stayed with aunt bugs before and in this particular resort as well, and were very disappointed with this one in particular. I have my own long term rentals here in MD and would not and do not rent my properties in the condition this cabin was in. When you go on vacation you expect to have the comforts of home- the cabin was filthy- my girlfriend had to clean after walking across the floor and her socks turning black from dirt, beds were VERY uncomfortable, hot tub did not work, button fell off keypad to entry, drywall plaster peeling, wallpaper peeling, hearing the man in the cabin next to us snoring plain as day. Thr dryer knob was broken. We called the office as was instructed on the fridge for trash pick up and they nastily told us there were dumpsters across the parking lot. Why put it on the fridge to be told otherwise? Her back was hurting so bad when she called and i was out with the kids so she had to wait. I thought we were on vacation. The only good thing was location to the pool for our kids. We called the rental office the 3rd day and let them know and because it was so long after we checked in we were told we would be charged. We didnt leave the place covered in filth and didnt even attempt the hot tub until then- how can u check everything after a 8 hour ride all u want to do is rest. We stayed 14 days, my girlfriend is still taking muscle relaxers for her back due to the bed. We were very upset at the attitude we received from aunt bugs in just letting them know the place needed attention. Somehow it became our problem. I will never recommend this cabin to anyone and will no longer recommend aunt bugs to friends or family, and will not stay with them again. You only care about the money not the customers. 2200.00 for nothing but a bad experience.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered with your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated, and will help us to create a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope to see you for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We had to share a cabin. ??
Kristie I. from Richton, MS does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2015
The cabin was great the first 2 days until neighbors arrived. The house is divided into 2 separate cabins by 1 teeny tiny super thin wall with no insulation! We could hear every move the 12 people next to us made. They had small children that cried and woke us up every night. We were not told this cabin was divided not was it in the description on the Internet ad. I assumed when booking, that it would be 1 whole cabin for my family. I was very disappointed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us. This cabin is advertised as a "townhome", which means you do share one outside wall with another cabin. However, you do not share the cabin, its amenities, or the hot tub with anyone else. We are sorry if this was not made clear to you, and hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and hope to see you for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pictures can be deceiving.
DAMIEN C. from GREENWOOD, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2015
Firstly I want to say I generally liked the cabin, and didn't HATE it. The problems I have were how the pictures look. They make it look like that entire cabin is the cabin, and that it is in the woods. Well, it's part of a resort, and basically a few hundred feet from the highway. Also, you aren't getting the entire cabin, you get HALF of the cabin, separated by thin walls and doors. If you are looking for secluded, this is NOT it. You are getting an apartment near town. Also, good luck getting ANY wifi. It's there, but the signal is so low you can't connect. Otherwise, the cabin itself was decent, as long as you keep those things in mind.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us Damien. We are sorry for any issues you have during your stay. Creating a positive experience is top priority for our company. We do have many other cabins that are more secluded, and we hope to accommodate you on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Norfleet Retreat
Garry N. from Whitley City, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2014
Very relaxing stay! Cabin was very nice. My only complaint was that the Wi-Fi was sketchy at best. Hard to connect and slow.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We apologize about the internet & Wi-Fi access at the cabin the resort there operates that and they could have been having issues with it. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

good place to stay
mary b. from saltillo, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014
Really enjoyed the stay at this cabin plenty of room for my family

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope to accommodate you again on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place to stay, close to Gatlinburg.
A guest from Fort Wayne, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014
Clean. Good location.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for letting us know about your stay and thank you for staying with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location, wonderful view
A guest from Indianapolis, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2014
Loved all the amenities of the cabin. Having everything already there right at your fingertips was great!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the cabin, its view and all the great amenities it has to offer! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Cabin
Stephen G. from East Haven, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in June, 2014
The cabin was very accommodating and comfortable. The scenery was beautiful and we were located close to everything that we wanted to see.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad to hear about your stay with us and we hope to accommodate you again on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

almost a good time
Barbara Y. from Manchester, NH recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in May, 2014
We had a lovely stay but on our departure we were accused of doing damage which we did not do.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for feedback regarding your cabin rental stay with our company. We appreciate your business, and your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

from South Carolina, thank yall
CHAD R. from Balcksburgs, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2014
You made our stay in Tennessee awesome. Send our thanks to the staff. After using other rental companies in the past I'm glad I found you aunt bug.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you had an awesome cabin rental stay, and visit to the area! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad you found us too! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not what we expected!
Arbinetta K. from Lexington, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014
It wasn't what we expected the carpet was old and needed cleaning, the throw pillows on the couch had stains on them!The cabin was very dusty!The area was nice but the cabin wasn't what we wanted. We were supposed to leave on Sunday!We checked out Saturday afternoon and came home.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry for the cleaning issues you encountered during your stay, and will direct your comments to the appropriate person(s). We appreciate your business, and your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

"Feeling Nasty"
Katina Z. from Greeneville, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
The cabin was dirty, the pull out couch upstairs was not useable and sheets were dirty. I absolutely felt uncomfortable that I was staying in a 'nasty' cabin. This is the first cabin I have stayed in Pigeon Forge where I did not feel comfortable because it was not clean and I will probably never use Aunt Bugs again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback about your cabin rental. I am sorry for the cleaning issues you encountered during your stay! Were you able to report your issues to the rental office? We use contract cleaners, and would have gladly sent them to correct any issues you were having. We appreciate your business, and your feedback. I hope you will still consider our company for future cabin rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Spur of moment
A guest from Summerville, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013
Just the break we needed

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We look forward to your next visit.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location
Breanna S. from London, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
If you want to stay at a cabin and be close to Pigeon Forge, this is the place to stay. Was surprised that we had to share the cabin with next door neighbors that was only separated by a locked door, but still a very nice place!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Too expensive of an area, community cabin living,
A guest from fairborn, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2013
Air conditioning didn't work, was fixed promptly, broken, lights, floors falling through, small shower stall in King bedroom, a bigger shower would have been nicer than a zacuzzi tub in the bedroom. TINY TV's, we didn't stay in the room much, but when we were tucked in at night, to bed able to SEE the TV screen would have been nice. BBQ on the basement level, Master bedroom on the top level. Make sure your young, majorly in shape, next time IF I return I will make sure I have a single level, stairs are a killer, and the cabin isn't on a main street in a community (I was hoping to be out in the woods not in the middle of a commercial hot spot). bed was firm for exhausted, sore bodies to recoup on was a plus. Second zacuzzi, main level was good for a 2 person, but with it leaking, knowing the wood is rotting underneath, wouldn't let my young adult boys join me and my husband, having it screened in was a blessing. I don't think my boys used the zacuzzi in the basement. community pool was clean, community zacuzzi was cold, didn't use, another couple complained about it. bit more expensive, than walk in's, and other cabin communities around. Would only go back with major reduced prices, and if I planned on staying for only a night or two, area is way too expensive.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry you did not find this townhome as a good fit for you. We do have cabins that are more secluded and with less stairs. Our reservationists are always happy to help you find the best style for you. We hope you will come back and see us again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

CBear
DARIAN M. from LEMLIR, PA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
Under the current cleaning we experianced it was terriable the hot tub was teriable the ants took over any place u looked you could see cobwebs wasn't very pleasent 3 days. thank u

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the issues you had, and we will make sure the cleaners do a better job. We hope you will visit us again and let us show you a better experience.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not so good
A guest from TOLEDO, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013
This was a very big let down. I was very excited to start my vacation and then when I got to my cabin i was very displeased. One of the beds appeared to have dirty sheets on them with hairs all over. When i comlained to management they accused me of lying and then at check out they accused me of smoking in the cabin and charged me $200 extra. So no I would not ever go back to Aunt Bugs cabin

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We apologize for the bed issues as our cabins are individual owned, we cannot control what kind of beds owner will place. For cleanliness issues, we already addressed this to our housekeepers. Hope you will consider our company on your future vacation again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not everything we expected
A guest from ELWOOD, IN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
We were disappointed to find that the cabin was a duplex in a resort, there was no good view of the mountains. Many things were in need of repair or replacement, light bulbs, tile, wallpaper, upstair jacuzzi did not work, the grill was in poor shape and the area around it dirty. Wi-fi did not work well, and they advertised a foose ball table and there was none, however there were 2 jacuzzis so we did have one that worked. The location proved to be an advantage to some degree, it was close to the things we wanted to do and we spent less time in heavy traffic and more time relaxing. I liked that it was on 3 levels, but that the indoor pool was up the hill, and there was not a fitness room to be found on the property. Some one should have made a map. I would not have rented the place knowing that there was some misrepresentation of what was there. I will try Aunt Bugs again, but I will make sure that I ask plenty of questions when I make my next reservation.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cold!
JENNIFER B. from BATAVIA, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2013
We got in late on our first night there on Saturday, the heat was off and we turned it on and proceeded with cooking dinner and relaxing. We turned the fireplace on and it was great.... till we woke up at 4:00 am freezing!! We didn't realize the heat did not work till then! We went down into the basement where there was a motel heater built in the wall and slept down there the first night. It took us forever to fall back asleep then we woke up at 11:00 am the next day, which was frustrating, then I was on the phone with customer svc.. They sent someone out, then had to call a hvac person to fix the problem. Then, I had to call numerous times to see if we could get a later check out the last day and I got an hour. Not once did they offer a discount for our troubles or anything! I feel, being in customer svc, that someone should check out the place and make sure things are working properly before their customers come to stay! We are spending almost 200 a night, customers deserve that, don't they?

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for letting us know of your experience with the property. We try our very best to make sure all properties are ready for all stays. We work alongside multiple companies to insure all of our guests are satisfied. As soon as we here of any issues we will send someone out immediately to address them. We hope you and your family gives us a second chance in the future, we have over 180 unique and individually owned properties to choose from. Again thank you for your feedback and we greatly
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 
 
 
 
 
 
Check Rates and Book Online
 (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)

 
 
 
 
 
 
Email Inquiry
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.

Privacy Statement

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.

See our privacy policy for more information.