Cozy, 4 Bed/2 Bath, sleeps up to 10
 
 
 
 
Property Details
Property Type: Condo
Bed/Bath: 4/2.00
Sleeps: 10
Pets: No
Smoking: No
Rental Rates:

$269 - $695 per night

$2,153 - $3,130 per week

 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description
This 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo is just a 7-10 minute walk to the lifts at Canyon Lodge. The condo features vaulted ceilings, a large open floorplan in the living area, wood-burning fireplace, and dining area with seating for 7 with an additional 4 at the kitchen bar. This unit includes a full kitchen with all of the appliances you would need and even has a private gas grill.

The upstairs master bedroom features a queen bed with attached bathroom, the second bedroom downstairs has a king bed, the third bedroom has 2 twins, with the fourth bedroom having 2 sets of bunk beds each with 2 twins (for a total of 4 twin beds).

A spectacular family unit just a short walk to Canyon Lodge! This condo sleeps a maximum of 10 people, there are 2 levels inside, 2 outdoor parking spaces, and no smoking or pets are permitted. (TOT Certificate #7020) Unit Code = MW124

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 6 Twin

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Kids Slopes, Movie Theatres, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Outlet Shopping, Rental Equipment Nearby, Ski School, Walk to Lifts, Restaurants and Bars, Mountain Bike Park
* Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, Public Game Room
* Geographic: Close to Town, Convict Lake, Crowley Lake, Devils Postpile, Horseshoe Lake, Lake Mary, Mammoth Mountain, Mono Lake, Rainbow Falls, Twin Lakes, Yosemite National Park
* Kitchen: Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster, Dishwasher, Freezer
* Living: Wood-Burning Fireplace, Wireless Internet, Linens Provided, No Phone, Laundry Facilities at Complex, No Internet
* Outdoor: Balcony, Private Gas Grill, Public Hot Tub, Sauna, Outdoor Pool, Public Gas Grill, Outdoor Parking
 
 
 
 
 
 
Map

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Availability
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months
  December   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  January   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  February   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28    
  March   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  April   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  May   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  June   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  July   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  August   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  September   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  October   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  November   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months

 
 
 
 
 
 
Rates
Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amenities
Amenities
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Linens Provided
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Balcony
Appliances
  • ·Blender
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Freezer
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reviews
 Property Reviews 
Mammoth get away with some friends.
A guest from Murrieta, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2017
I was impressed with how much room we had in this unit and how cleaned it was. The BBQ grill was excellent to have and the kitchen had all the cookwares that needed.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Terrible, stay away!
Derrick M. from Anaheim, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2017
We payed for a four bedroom condominium and one of bedrooms could not be used because of no heat in the middle of winter. The small heater the rental company had brought over ran for hours without warming the room above 60 degrees, even with the door closed. Another room had a broken headboard that banged on the wall when ever you changed sleep positions. The bunkbeds in the 3rd bedroom were unsafe, ladder was not attached and mattresses were very old and thin. We had guests that had to sleep on the couch and the floor. Bring earplugs because the downstairs bedrooms were right above the street and the beeping of the snow plows started very early.They advertised cable TV and the only TV in the condo did not work the entire 3 days we were there, bad connection to cable box was their reason. The carpeting was ripped and unsafe. Pots and pans rusty with peeling teflon, drapes hanging off their rods because of broken hooks. Melted snow seeped under the front door causing a large wet area in the entryway.We had the maintenance men come out on three separate occasions and could not fix any of the problems. They both agreed that this condo is sub standard. Anyone that would give this place over a 1 star for good location must either be a college student living in a frat house or a friend of Sierra Reservations.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Mammoth Sierra Reservations
Hi Derrick, Sounds like you had some issues during your stay and I apologize, but it sounds like our staff was doing everything they could to get things fixed for you during your stay. Since your departure the issue with the heaters has been fixed as well as the maintenance issues. I have relayed your comments regarding the mattress to the owner of the condo for consideration. I hope your trip to Mammoth was nice despite the issues you had. Thanks, Cindy
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Property, Better Service
Alex H. from Santa Barbara, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2017
I think I can speak for our entire group of 10 when I say that we could not have been more pleased with our experience, beginning to end. The unit itself was in excellent shape when we arrived and came supplied with all the amenities we could hope for. Between the well-stocked kitchen and the outdoor grill, we were able to prepare all of our meals for the weekend in-house, instead of venturing out into the dumping snow, and the dining room and living room were very spacious and provided a perfect environment for a weekend of board games and socializing. On top of that, the location of the property couldn't be better, being only a short (5-10min) walk from Canyon Lodge. But what impressed us the most of all was the professionalism and hospitality of the management. When the weather turned south, shutting down the 395 the morning we were planning to leave, the staff at Mammoth Sierra Reservations was incredibly accommodating of our situation and allowed us to delay our checkout considerably at no cost. I'm a firm believer that businesses that do right by their customers should be rewarded. That's why I'm writing this review, that's why I would recommend this company without reservation, and that's why I will go out of my way to book my Mammoth vacation rentals through them in the future.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Mammoth Sierra Reservations
Hi Alex! Im glad you enjoyed your stay and we could accommodate you during the high volume of snow our small town experienced... great for skiing though! We hope you will come back to visit us when you are in Mammoth again! Thanks, Cindy
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stuck in the 70s
William C. from Templeton, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2016
This property hasn't seen an upgrade since the 70s. The furniture - (all of it), window coverings (Really...woven woods) and lamps. The kitchen was barely equipped. It lacked many basic pots, pans, utensils etc. Three of the five light bulbs in the dining room were burned out. Elsewhere, there were barely enough lighting fixtures. Some of the interior doors were barely hanging on. The ladder to the bunk beds was broken (it was repaired by the maintenance man) and perhaps most critically, the balcony rail was barely hanging on (deteriorating wood)which, if leaned on, would lead to a long fall. Overall, it is obvious that the owner is merely sucking money out of this unit without any ongoing efforts to maintain it.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fixer upper dirty condo, photos falsely misleading this place
Nancy V. from Downey, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2016
Not a 5 start as advertised!! Carpet is so dirty, stained and torn! Unacceptable condition for a rental! water leak from the ceiling in master bedroom Plates, cups, and utensils were disgusting, even after washing them stains would not come off.Kitchen pots and pans were also discussing. Inadequate pans to even cook with.Wall paper ripped, unfinished patch job in downstairs bedroom, and walls dirty in need of paint Mildew/mold in the bathrooms and sink area.Kitchen drawer broken.Oven extremely dirty.This looks like a fixer upper/bank repossessed place, no pride of ownership, they just want to take your money. Management-rental company doesn't care!! Stay away from this company

Property Manager Response:
Response from Mammoth Sierra Reservations
Hi Nancy. Thanks for the review and I'm sorry to hear the unit did not live up to your expectations. I know there was an issue with a leak from snow on the roof of the building during your stay and we got that fixed for you right away, but were unaware of the other issues you had in the condo. I will send someone from our staff to the unit to check on the items you mentioned and make sure things are cleaned and inventory items replaced or purchased, if needed, prior to our next guest. Thanks, Cindy
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pasadena
Armand C. from Alhambra, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2015
I had a pleasant stay and was very satisfied with the property.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The 70s are in again
Frank T. from Newbury Park, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2015
Good to be back in mammoth after a 10 year away
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pluses and Minuses
Iskren P. from san diego, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2015
The Bad:Old smelly carpet, kitchen utensils - half/half cleaned, fire place unusable - even with open dumper a lot smoke inside. NO WIFIThe good:Close to Canyon Lodge, large common space, convenient access, excellent BBQ
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 
 
 
 
 
 
Check Rates and Book Online
 (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)

 
 
 
 
 
 
Email Inquiry
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.

Privacy Statement

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.

See our privacy policy for more information.