Kempner Park Carriage House: Charmer Near Beach & Pier
 
 
 
 
Property Details
Property Type: Cottage
Bed/Bath: 1/1.00
Sleeps: 3
Pets: No
Smoking: No
Rental Rates:

$78 - $200 per night

$533 - $1,174 per week

$1,106 - $5,251 per month

 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description
DESCRIPTION
This Kempner Park, newly renovated late-19th-century charmer is generous on character, details and style. Built in 1890, the home is located within a short walk to the beach or a quick bike or trolley ride to the east side and the Strand. This romantic one bed/one bath cottage boasts an indulgent King-size bed, newly restored hardwoods throughout, tall ceilings, several original shiplapped walls, and many period details.

THE LOCATION: ENJOY GALVESTON
Conveniently located mid-island, the home is an easy 8-minute walk to the sand and Seawall. To the east, across Broadway, take a trolley to the quaint downtown/Strand area with its original brick streets and gaslights, world-class dining, seafood markets, art museums, and shopping. Plan a special meal with waterfront dining along Harborside and perhaps Fisherman?s Wharf. For all you Cajun-lovin? foodies, try Willie G?s for their robust Gumbos or the Del Mar with Redfish Francese. If you're an early riser, take the newly-restored Trolley to the Strand and Mod?s Coffee House (get the zucchini bread) or rent a golf cart and tour the lovely East End Historical District. There are so many fabulous attractions for all ages in Galveston. Several magazine editors have added this carriage house to their ?to-do? list and we hope you will also consider a romantic stay at our Kempner House Carriage House.

RELAXING AT HOME
If you prefer to eat in, there is plenty of room to do so. An eat-in kitchen has a generous granite-topped island; the kitchen also features stained glass windows over the front door and two antique windows facing the street. The renovated kitchen boasts a large, farmhouse-style sink atop a butcher block countertop, a complete set of dishes, pots and pans, and modern appliances, including a dishwasher, coffee pot, and toaster oven. Enjoy a separate TV area with a traditional slipcovered sofa/armchair, railroad cart coffee table, antique fireplace mantel and a 47? Vizio flat-screen TV with a Roku stick. The KP Carriage House is perfect as a getaway for a couple, business travelers, solo adventurers, and possibly a third person (with a twin mattress and bedding available). There are two large screen smart TVs (located in the LR and BR). Access your home subscription services or thousands of free shows available through internet apps. Sleeps 2 comfortably (twin-size trundle available for 1 more person).

AMENITIES:

KITCHEN
Full kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Cooking utensils, Pots/pans, Dishwasher, Glassware, Stove/oven, Silverware, Tea Kettle

ENTERTAINMENT Unlimited Tours, Attractions, Museums, Oldest Library, Great Walkability, Shoreline, TV, Games, WiFi, Books, Netflix, Roku

ATTRACTIONS Garten Verein/Kempner Park, Walk to Beach, Short Trolley Ride to Strand, Same Street Cruise Line, Pleasure Pier,

SUITABILITY Perfect for a couple (one twin trundle for one extra). Sorry not suitable for pets, parties, events, or excess guests.

LIVING A/C, Linens, Ironing board, High speed internet, Fireplace, Iron, Hair dryer, Games, Novels

BUSINESS Near Banks/ATM, Shops, Boutiques, World-Class Dining, Seafood Markets

CONVENIENCE Near medical services, grocery, Golf course, Washaterias

CULTURE Museums, wharf, historical districts, art walks

OUTDOOR Beach toys, Private entrance

GEOGRAPHIC Near beach, town, public transportation

THE TURNKEY ADVANTAGE Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We will notify you when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of home with a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. Access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection policy.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Twin

Room Description: Master- King bed with trundle
Full bath with shower/tub combo

Additional Features:
* ATTRACTIONS: playground
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
* Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
* Culture: Museums, Recreation Center, Moody Gardens Amusement Park
* ENTERTAINMENT: Television, Games, Wireless Internet, Books, Netflix, Roku
* Geographic: Near Beach, Close to Town, Near Public Transportation
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Cooking Utensils, Pots / Pans, Dishwasher, Glassware, Stove / Oven, Silverware, Tea Kettle
* Living: Central Air, Air Conditioning, Linens, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Fireplace, Iron, Hair Dryer, Games, Novels
* Outdoor: Beach Toys, Beach Umbrella, Private Entrance
* SUITABILITY: children welcome
 
 
 
 
 
 
Map

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Availability

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/14/2018

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  July   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  August   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  September   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  October   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  November   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
  December   2018  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  January   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  February   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28    
  March   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  April   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  May   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  June   2019  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

 
 
 
 
 
 
Rates
Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amenities
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Fireplace
  • ·Games
  • ·Games
  • ·High-Speed Internet
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reviews
 Property Reviews 
Cozy little gem
Reviewed by: Lauren W. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2018
This was a beautiful little home, truly enjoyed my stay here. The bed, linens and pillows were all very comfy. Would def recommend to a friend/stay again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved this cute little carriage house!
Brielle H. from St Michael, MN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2018
We had such a great time in Galveston, and we're so happy we stayed at this carriage house. It was in the perfect location - close to the beach for me and close to the back canal/bay for my fisherman fiance. We would stay here again if we ever made the trip back to the island!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A beautiful historic home just a half mile walk to the seawall
Reviewed by: Amber D. recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in March, 2018
We had a wonderful spring break beach vacation and fell in love with this house. I had a chance to talk to both neighbors and learned so much about the history of the home. If I could move here I would in a heart beat. My family loved the complimentary breakfast and snack basket and the beach toys were an absolute hit. We had so much fun walking around the neighborhood and loved the architecture of all of the homes nearby. My only complaint would be the distance to the seawall as it gets to be tiresome after a few trips back and forth throughout the day. I think it would be a great addition to include a few bikes or maybe a golf cart to help with the trips to and from the beach. We decided to extend our stay by checking in one day earlier and the process was a breeze. We also made a last minute decision to extend our stay another day less than 2 hrs before checkout. This process was a little more complicated since wet booked through airbnb and their system had not been updated to the 12 pm checkout instead of the 10 am checkout we originally had been given. Luckily with a few calls back and forth between airbnb and the rental company we were able to book the home another day without having to pay another cleaning fee. We had an issue with the cleaning crew who prepared the home for us but we were so busy that I didn't get a chance to notify the rental company until the day we called to get the extension. I was very impressed with the prompt attention and overall professionalism of the local management team. I will definitely stay at any turnkey rental home in the future. This home is perfect for 2 adults, 1 child, and a baby but the lack of closet space makes it a little difficult with so many people. Other than those few issues I have nothing but great things to say about this home and would recommend to anyone. I hope to stay there again with just my husband and I in the near future.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Hi Amber,

Thank you for the compliments, and we love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Please know that we?ve followed up with our Housekeeping Team to address your cleanliness concerns and ensure these problems do not reoccur moving forward. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Uncomfortable Mini Cottage
Reviewed by: Sylvia L. does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 27 days in January, 2018
Not much good about this place except the location. First thing we had to do was buy a mat for the tub after almost falling while getting in for a shower. Don't go here when the temps are cold as it's one very cold drafty place! Couch is the most uncomfortable on Earth! Bed sags badly in the middle making it hard to get out. Dishwasher sounds like a large truck so quit using it. No ice maker, no disposal, microwave way too high up. And, there is too much decorative junk sitting around for it to be convenient for the visitor. Cute but unnecessary and in the way!

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Hello Sylvia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we?re so sorry to hear your experience with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service before, during, and after your stay. We wish we had known about the issues during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Our 24/7 guest hotline is always available -- never hesitate to reach out while you?re staying with us! Please be assured we?re checking on everything you?ve mentioned, and we?ll make sure it all gets resolved. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Perfect Rental for a Romantic Weekend Getaway
Leigh H. from Mason, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2017
Picked this cottage for our 18th wedding anniversary and my 40th birthday getaway! Chose this place over so many because of the age of the property and the cozy look. We arrived after dark but the cottage was easy to find and we had parking right out front. We put on our code and walked in to a freezing but beautiful place! We turned the heating unit on right away and within a few hours it was comfortable. By the morning it was nice and toasty. Everything you could ever need for a getaway was there and it was so comfy. The couch is perfect for morning sitting with coffee or lounging watching a movie. The bed was really cozy and comfy. The pillow topper is just like ours here at home! We loved every second and will definitely visit again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Rustic Perfection
Stephanie L. from XXXXX, recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2017
Very clean, loved the decor. Felt relaxed & at home!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect cottage getaway
A guest from Emeryville, recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2017
We loved our stay here. It was decorated so tastefully and the location was just perfect!! In walking distance of the beach and many great restaurants. Will definitely stay again!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely cottage
A guest from Commerce, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2017
The cottage was very beautiful and the location was great. The place was very clean and tidy. Absolutely loved it except for the bed, it sinks in the middle worse than any bed I've ever slept on. Replace that and the cottage would be perfect. The booking service, HomeAway, asked "security questions" about phone numbers and addresses from 15+ years ago. A good memory is apparently required to make a reservation...

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Hi Joseph,

Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will check on the condition of the mattress and recommend to the homeowner that they replace it, if needed. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. With regards to the security questions you were asked, these are created by pulling information that is available from public records. These are similar questions to what you would receive on a fraud alert or anything else trying to verify your identity. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely 1 BR near the beach
Reviewed by: Jake S. recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in September, 2017
Came down here for work for a week, the condo was in a great location close to the beach and restaurants, well furnished with a big comfy king bed.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cute Beachy Cottage
A guest from Hoover, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2017
Very nicely decorated and very clean. Perfect for a couple.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Absolutely Adorable!!!
A guest from Crowley, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2017
This was a girls getaway for me and my daughter. I let her pick from several places on the VRBO site (Most were much more expensive and right across from the beach) but she chose this one & that was fine with me because I thought it was so cute. We were both super excited to see if it looked like the pictures and it did! From the moment we drove up to the outside we knew we were going to love it and then as we went through the house we fell more in love and knew we had picked the right place to stay. There was so much thought and detail in every single thing and we truly felt like we were in a little cottage- Everything was fresh and very clean! They also provided coffee/tea/sugar/creamer and a few little snacks for us, which was super nice. I loved the little remote fireplace and would turn it on without the heat and enjoy my coffee beside it on the huge comfy couch in the morning or a glass of wine at night. If I had (1) complaint it would be that we stayed for 4 nights and they only provided (1) bath towel & (1) wash cloth for each of us. It would have been a little nice to have at least another set for each. Other than that EVERYTHING was perfect! We did meet (1) set of neighbors and they were super nice which made us feel even better about the place. It was in a great location... just a few blocks from the beach, restaurants and lots of other fun stuff were close by. If I ever go back to Galveston, I will try to plan my dates to stay here again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Super Cute!
Teresa B. from Amarillo, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2017
Overall, we loved this rental and it's location. The house is decorated really cute, and has more things provided than we expected - like umbrellas, beach chairs and toys, cooking and cleaning utensils. The home is located just a few blocks from the beach and is an easy walk to the beach, shops, and restaurants along Seawall Blvd.We did have trouble connecting to the secure Wi-Fi. There was an unsecure connection that we could connect to fine, but never could connect to the secure one even with the instructions. The Roku works but unless you already have accounts, it doesn't do you much good. We have Netflix, but when it came time to leave, we couldn't remove our account information without resetting the whole thing. We also couldn't get the tablet to work. It wouldn't charge.Two packages were delivered from Amazon, and we weren't sure what to do with them so they were left by the door when we left. This is a cute and comfortable home and we would definitely stay here again on future trips to Galveston. This was our second time using a VRBO and it was different having the property managed by a company versus the personal touch of dealing directly with the owner.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Teresa,
Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow up to ensure that the WiFi and Tablet issues are resolved. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 
 
 
 
 
 
Check Rates and Book Online
 (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)

 
 
 
 
 
 
Email Inquiry
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.

Privacy Statement

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.

See our privacy policy for more information.